We use cookies to make our service as accessible as possible. With the following dialogue you can select the individual tools and the selection will be stored locally in cookies on this computer. The dialogue can be activated and changed at any time by clicking on the button at the top right corner of the page.

Deactivate all tools Activate all tools Activate selected tools

History of the Institute

History of the Institute


1967 Foundation of the "Institut für Hüttenmaschinen" (IfH) in the Department of Mechanical Engineering (later the Department of Mechanical and Process Engineering) of the Faculty of Mining and Metallurgy and call of Dr.-Ing. Friedrich Wilhelm Griese to the Chair of Metallurgical Machinery and Mechanical Process Engineering. The institute is located in the premises of the Fritz Süchting Institute of Mechanical Engineering.

1971 Establishment of the professorship for constructive design (later material flow and project planning) at the IfH and call of Dr.-Ing. Hans-Joachim Torke.

1973 Topping-out ceremony for the new premises of the institute in Leibnizstraße.

1976 Relocation of the Institute to the new building in Leibnizstraße.

1978 The Institute is renamed to "Institut für Hüttenmaschinen und Maschinelle Anlagentechnik".

1980 The founder of the institute, Professor Griese, retires.

1985 Call of Dr.-Ing. Harald Zenner to the former professorship of Friedrich Wilhelm Griese. The denomination of the professorship is now Mechanical Process Engineering and Structural Durability.

1993 Renaming of the institute to "Institut für Maschinelle Anlagentechnik und Betriebsfestigkeit" (IMAB).

1995 Professor Torke retires.

1996 Replacement of Professor Torke's former professorship, now Professorship for Plant Design and Material Flow Logistics with Dr.-Ing. Uwe Bracht.

2003 Retirement of Professor Zenner and reoccupation of his former professorship, now professorship for Structural Durability and System Behaviour, with Prof. Dr.-Ing. Alfons Esderts.

2019 Retirement of Professor Bracht.


Professors at IMAB

Professor Dr.-Ing. Friedrich Wilhelm Griese

Chair of Metallurgical Machinery and Mechanical Process Engineering
from 1967 to 1980

Professor Dr.-Ing. Hans-Joachim Torke

Chair for Constructive Design
from 1971 to 1978
Chair for Material Flow and Project Planning
from 1978 to 1995

Professor Dr.-Ing. Harald Zenner

Chair for Mechanical Process Engineering and Structural Durability
from 1985 to 2003


Professor Dr.-Ing. Uwe Bracht

Chair for Material Flow and Project Planning
from 1996 to 2019

Professor Dr.-Ing. Alfons Esderts

Chair for Structural Durability and System Behavior
since 2003



  • Müller, G.: Der Lehrkörper der Technischen Universität Clausthal sowie ihrer Vorläufer. 1775 bis 1999. Schlütersche GmbH & Co. KG, Verlag und Druckerei, Hannover 2000
  • Fachbereich Maschinen- und Verfahrenstechnik der Technischen Universität Clausthal (Hrsg.): Festschrift. 20 Jahre Maschinenbau und Verfahrenstechnik. 1066 - 1986. an der Technischen Universität Clausthal. Clausthal-Zellerfeld, 1986
  • Technische Universität Clausthal (Hrsg.): Darstellung der Fachbereiche der Technischen Universität Clausthal 2002 in Zahlen. Clausthal-Zellerfeld, 2002
  • Technische Universität Clausthal (Hrsg.): Professorinnen und Professoren der Technischen Universität Clausthal. Quensen Druck + Verlag GmbH, Hildesheim, 2018
  • Graf, T.: Institut für Maschinelle Anlagentechnik und Betriebsfestigkeit. Festschrift anlässlich des 80. Geburtstags von Professor Griese, Januar 1994